Handstands

The elusive handstand.  I have been trying, not seriously, for years to be able to hold a handstand.  I’m on a quest now though to be able to do this.  Some internet postings had good tips, but most didn’t help.    I’m not afraid to go into a handstand, and already practice up against the wall.  The missing link for me is that next step.  I can do a handstand, for a second, sometimes a few.  But how to actually improve beyond that?

I’ve never consistently practiced, so despite not seeing any progress, I’ve started devoting much more time, usually daily – even if its just for 5 minutes, to do handstand up against the wall.  Testing the theory of practice practice practice, and also gaining the strength in order to be able to hold my handstand for when that time comes.  I’m working up to get one set up against the wall for one minute.  One tip from a website was to have your legs at a 90 degree angle against the wall to really focus on the hand/shoulder/torso placement.  Movements from class – keeping hands on the ground and going into a handstand helps to practice a more controlled momentum upwards, and ideally, you should be able to get into a handstand from hands on the ground.

I made some good progress today.  I realized my momentum was pushing me sideways, so instead of falling back down straight, I was falling sideways, particularly to the right.  So when I focused on just going straight up, I did well, and to keep my core tight. That has also been key.  On a good handstand I can hold it for about 5 seconds.  I think now that I have made this breakthrough that with more and more practice I will improve rapidly as I get a better feel for my balance and increase my strength.

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

