Canyoning Chli Schliere – Interlaken

This was probably the highlight of my trip.  Interlaken (Switzerland) was absolutely beautiful and I would like to go back.  It was a bit of a spontaneous portion of the trip, but worth it. I signed up for this the afternoon before, while still in Norway.  Airberlin, being the awesome airline that they are had lost my bag, and promised to deliver it when it came.   I was not planning on staying in Zurich longer than that one night.  My plan was to go to Interlaken for canyoning the next morning, then continue on to Zermatt for a few days afterwards.  Airberlin forced me to check my bag when I was boarding, so I didn’t have a proper carry on.  It did not even include a change of clothes, or a swiming suit.  I decided I wanted to go canyoning so bad, and I would go regardless of if my bag came or not.  Luckily, when my alarm went off at 4:30am to get ready, my big bag had arrived in the night.  The shuttle bus from the hotel to the train station left early without me since they were full, the taxi was expensive and I was feeling very anxious that I would get on the wrong train and not make it on time.  Long story short, I spent two hours being anxious, was still 20 minutes late despite asking a million times for directions,  but a taxi guy let me use his phone to call the place, and my group was still waiting for me.  I was whisked away back to the main place where everyone was already loaded up and waiting to go, quickly signed the forms, then headed up.

I went with Outdoor Interlaken based on reviews I read, and they were great.  I was the only girl in my group of about 10, but everyone was nice.  There was nothing I felt like I couldn’t do, although it was definitely an adrenaline rush after adrenaline rush.   The scenery was super cool, and the canyon itself had so many unique formations and slides and jumps which was another reason I liked it so much.  It wasn’t just jumping off stuff.. it was going down interesting and challenging terrain.   Everyone had names on their helmets to make it easy for the guides to address someone.   Apparently my helmet was “slut” in Swiss.  A few others women’s helmets had female body part names.  It didn’t bother me enough to ruin my day, but in comparison to the guys helmets, which had names like Skunk, and Hobo, I was intrigued with why the women’s helmets had sex related names on them.  I don’t really see the point in that.  Ok, well not intrigued.  More so interested why they would be so uncreative in their helmet naming humor.

I met a lot of cool people and they were all staying in Interlaken and doing fun stuff the next day.  I had a brief thought of staying with the people I met and doing the big canyon swing the next day, but instead followed my set plan where I had already booked and paid for my hotel in in Zermatt. They fed us and gave us beer at the end, which helped solidify that I would not be staying awake on the train ride over.  Instead,  I vowed to come back and spend more time in Interlaken in the future.  Hands down, one of the prettiest places I have seen.

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

