Running.

Stop watch My timer came in the mail today, so I knew I had to go to a sprint workout.  New headphones.  New timer.  Ready to go.   My headphones broke at the gym last night which is pretty much the worst thing that can happen during a workout.
6x200m with 200m slow jog in between,  1 lap rest after 3 sets.  This was a killer workout for me, harder than when I did eight sets.  Not sure if it was because I am still sore from leg day a few days ago, or I just ran too fast to start, but you know its going to be challenging when you start feeling sore during the workout itself.  I like running, as it’s one of the few exercises where I can push myself so hard to the point of feeling sick.  In a good way.   Today was definitely one of those days.
So first time using the timer: splits:
33.3second, 35.4, 37.5,  /  39.3, 36.3, 36.4
I struggled with consistency, and felt too tired to keep up with my time from the first set.  Next time I will slow jog 600m in between instead of 200m, and try to get the other sets down to between 34-35 each time.  And add an additional 3 sets.

It’s taken me a very very long time to be able to do running workouts again.  I run sporadically, and it has usually been longer-ish distances (maybe 3-4 mile runs) which I always find boring and painful, and its a mental fight each time to get myself out the door.    Treadmills are even worse, and just thinking about them makes me sad and wishing I hadn’t.

I ran track and cross-country in middle school and high school.  Being the uncoordinated individual that I am, running was the one thing I was naturally good at.  I loved the relays, and ran the 4×400 relay, and the 800m and 400m, the 400m was my fav.  Long story short, after doing spectacular my junior year in track, getting a medal at state for the relay, I trained all summer to prepare for cross-country, and bide time until track next year and do even better.  I ended up getting severely anemic, and didn’t realize the onset, probably due to being in good shape.  By the time I started very noticeably struggling, I was discouraged by people close to me to go to the doctor, telling me that I was just weak and there was nothing wrong.  My coach finally convinced me to get a blood test, which showed I had 9.6 hemoglobin level, which is pretty low.  Women should have in the 12-14 range, and athletes above 13.  Hemoglobin carries the red blood cells around your body, delivering oxygen.   So it makes you fatigued, and can be hard to breathe.  Breathing felt like I had a mask over my face, and I started to have to use an inhaler for the workouts.   It was no fun.  Anemia also has some weird side effects – one of them being similar to someone with pica.  (That weird disorder where people eat dirt and chew ice) Luckily I only had constant cravings to chew ice.  My mouth would even water thinking about ice cubes. It was a very intense and constant craving.  What I did learn from this experience is that it is important to pay attention to your own body, and when things don’t feel right, nobody else’s opinion matters.   Better safe than sorry.   I had always enjoyed running when I was younger, and it feels good to finally enjoy it again.

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running.

  1. Wow. I really love you blog. Hearing people like you gives me motivation to do my own working out.

Leave a Reply

