Managing Work Stress

manage-stress-poster-14I still haven’t figured this out.  I’d like to think I’m getting better.  Despite typically being an extremely patient person, my threshold for getting annoyed is much lower under stress and dealing with the frustrations at work is more challenging.  When I’m extremely stressed at work I think about it at night, and have trouble sleeping.  Working on fixing that.  Things that help:

1) Do not read work emails once I leave work.  I can stay late, go in early, but once I leave that’s it.

2) Do not go into work angry in the morning.  Focus hard on positive things, relax, drink my coffee, whatever it takes.  Important to start out the day on a good note.  Never read work emails in the morning either.

3) Take a fucking moment.   breathe.  get past the immediacy of the angry moment.  Do not respond to the emails that made me frustrated.  Write it out, ponder it, then wait at list a few hours or the next day.

4) Focus on words of wisdom  ““If there is a solution to the problem, there is no need to worry. If there is no solution, there is no sense in worrying either.”   – I think of this often.

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

