30 day: View on relationships / single life

30days-challenge-pic3Trying this out with some friends.  Already missed day 1.. so will try to catch up.
The topics seem open to interpretation / reframe, so I’m choosing to modify them slightly.  I’ve been both single, and in relationships for many years with a tendency towards being single.  My ideal situation would be to have a loving relationship with someone who deeply understands who you are, and helps motivate you to become the best you can be, and vice versa.  They support your goals and dreams, and appreciate who you are.   Short of that,  relationships are very time intensive, and spending it with the wrong person is a waste of time.  Well, rephrase.  I think you always learn things about yourself in whatever situation you put yourself in.  I just tend to learn and grow in a positive way and accomplish more things when I’m on my own rather than having companionship for the sake of companionship.  I’ve also been down that road before.  Spending two years of my life with someone who was.. average.  Thinking it was about time to be with someone, settle down.  The guy was nice enough, but not my perfect person.   I tried to convince myself that we can’t have everything we want in a partner, nobody can ‘be it all’.  Did I 1235184_402512119850303_640264185_nreally need two years to discover what I don’t want in a relationship?  That you should never lower your standards just to try to make things work? Some lessons need to really be hammered in I suppose.   It was a miserable experience.   I’ve since met many wonderful people, and the older I get, the more I would never compromise that ideal of wanting to spend the rest of my life with anyone less than amazing.

And of course.. some of my favorite quotes on love are from Ayn Rand.

“Love is the expression of one’s values, the greatest reward you can earn for the moral qualities you have achieved in your character and person..”  Atlas Shrugged pg. 946

“She thought: To find a feeling that would hold, as their sum, as their final expression, the purpose of all the things she loved on earth… to find a consciousness like her own, who would be the meaning of her world, as she would be of his..a man who existed only in her knowledge of her capacity for an emotion she had never felt, but would have given her life to experience. ”  pg. 207

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Ramblings, Recent Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

