FitMiss Vanilla Chai Protein Pancakes

FitMiss Vanilla Chai Protein Pancakes from Well-Girl:

Pancake Fail.  The potential looked really good.  But no point dwelling on how things could have been.

This was actually my first time making pancakes.  Ever.  I’ve definitely eaten them, but in general I stick to oatmeal, omelets, or eggs on toast as preferred weekend breakfast items.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 scoop of FitMiss Vanilla Chai protein powder
  • 3 tbsp coconut flour
  • 3 tbsp of unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tbsp plain greek yogurt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
Directions
  • Heat griddle to med-high heat.
  • Beat eggs & whisk together with remaining wet ingredients.
  • Mix in dry ingredients.
  • Allow batter to sit & thicken for a few minutes.
  • Spray griddle with non-stick cooking spray.
  • Spoon batter onto your hot griddle, 2 tablespoons at a time per pancake.
  • Wait about 30 seconds and then slowly add more batter to each pancake to make them thicker. This batter will make 4-5 pancakes depending on the size of your pancakes.
  • Allow to cook for a few more minutes before you flip to cook on the other side
    ______________________________________

So.  First mistake.  I didn’t have all of the exact ingredients, although I’m not sure it would have made a difference.  I left out the vanilla chai protein powder completely.  I also left out the additional egg white and just put in one egg.  I only had one egg, but I looked up other pancake recipes, and it seemed like using just 1 egg was pretty standard so… I thought all would be well.   Also. No applesauce, which I didn’t think this was crucial.  The batter was wayyyy dry, to the point I couldn’t even add in my last tbsp of flour so I added in more milk and yogurt, and a little bit of melted butter which was still in accordance with other recipes, many called for a lot more milk so I thought it would be ok…  I put it on the fry pan, and the rest is history.  I tried to make the frosting called for in the recipe and put the coconut flour in instead of protein powder.  don’t! it was inedible.  The pancakes also were nearly inedible. I threw half the batter away, and managed to eat two small ones, with maple syrup.  #neveragain.   I even bought coconut flour in anticipation of how good these would be! Pancakes.  Harder than they look.

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Food, Recent Posts, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

