Crossfit

imagesI’ve only had about 7 classes, so I can’t speak from the perspective of doing this a ton, but it’s been enjoyable so far.  I didn’t sign up for a gym, instead I used a groupon for 10 classes of ‘fundamentals’.  I was looking for a class that was not super expensive, and also that I didn’t need to be part of a weeks long training program for beginners because I can’t fit it in.  I try to go once a week.  To join a crossfit gym can be insanely expensive, so despite my enjoyment of it, I prefer to keep my gym membership and would not make the decision to opt to join crossfit box instead.   My classes usually last about 1hr – 1:15 mins.  We warmup, go over the technique for some core lifts and exercises involved in crossfit, then do a WOD (Workout of the Day).  Despite lifting my entire life,  I have tended to spend more time researching different workouts than technique.  Mistake!   I have learned something in every single class I’ve been to.  It also impressed upon me the need to read up on the technique, as even just little differences can make a huge improvement.  I highly recommend this book Starting Strength: Basic Barbell Training.   We have also done lifts like barbell snatches, that I wouldn’t have tried to on my own.  So despite my terrible technique from the first day, it’s nice getting an introduction to it.  I was also completely new to the lingo, so trying to look up a WOD (which different versions of this are posted all over the web) but since I didn’t quite understand what the exercises were..  I didn’t get very far.  Crossfit for beginners:  Basically there are two ways you can complete the WOD.  Either you try to complete the prescribed exercises for time allotted AMRAP (as many rounds as possible), or you try to get as many reps in For Time.  Here is a better and longer list of the lingo and movements likely to appear in any crossfit class.

I also enjoy putting in a good workout with a group of people.  Group classes are not always something I thrive on, I rarely go to the classes at the gym, as they just aren’t interesting enough for me or worth the cost benefit of the time I spend in class vs. doing a workout on my own.  I do like the yoga.  That is something that I can’t do on my own, so I go when I can.   The crossfit workouts I really like though.  They are always intense, the group is intense and motivating, and I learn new things every single time.  And that’s enough for me to make the drive, and look forward to going once a week, and looking into another groupon for ten more classes.

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Weight Training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

