Fitness goal update

Well it seems I’ve already hit some of my goals, and getting close in some, and not budging in the others.

Deadlift:  190lb  yeah!
Squat: 150lb
Push press: still 75lb (sigh)

I think I can get up to 200lb in deadlift soon.  I tried a switch grip, and ended up adding 15lb from my previous max, so it was more due to the grip than the weight that I hadn’t been able to lift it.  It’s easy to see the reasons my leg strength is increasing but not my upper body is just consistent workouts.  (and also that squat / deadlift you can lift so much more so it’s easier to make bigger gains)  Traveling impacts my schedule a lot.   I was out of town for a week and a half and it threw off my whole schedule.  I did manage to  keep get in my weekly leg workout, which was my only weight lifting of the time off. I also tried hard not to let my diet go out the window, which always happens around my family, so I consider that a success.   I have another trip coming up in March for nearly two weeks, which will set me back even farther.   It will be on a very strict schedule, so no gym time.  My three-month goal may need to be revised.  I am getting substantially stronger, which I’m excited about, but I  also really want to look leaner and meaner.  My diet and my stretching regimen has been struggling with travel and late work hours and bday celebrations.   Each week, each day is a new chance to start over.

I introduced circuits into my leg routine which have been awesome.  Now my standard Leg day will be a max lift with 8 sets with either deadlift or squat, then a circuit set. I love kettle bells!  I do kettle bells with my deadlift circuits.  I get so sore from them.  Good cardio. Last night was:
4 sets
Squat 25lb (low squat) x6
Dumbell Snatch 20lb x12
Free Weights Squat 25lb x8
1:15 rest

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

