Health Stats from Blood Test

Heart-with-Stethascope_webResults from blood test:  All is well!  Some of it is a bit confusing.  The ‘normal’ range listed by Kaiser doesn’t always match up with what normal ranges from what health websites claim.

My hemoglobin level (HGB) from everything I’ve ever read, (such as) would say that 12-15 is the standard range for adult women, slightly higher (14-15) for athletes.  Yet it tells me that my current level at 10.7 is normal.  I have always struggled with low iron, and since I regularly try to donate blood this gets checked every few months.  10.7 is low, even for me.

Kaiser

Hematocrit levels from Medicine.net and  E Medicine Health both say this level should be 38% – 46% for adult women.  Hematocrit measures red blood cell percentage and also points to anemia when it is low.  My level is 33.7%.

My thyroid levels (TSH) appear to be normal.  According to Kaiser anyways.  According to other sites, it is slightly over the edge, showing signs of possible of hypothyroidism.  Not major though.  “As of 2003, the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists is recommending that the normal range run from 0.3 to 3.0”
Screen Shot 2014-06-06 at 10.52.02 PM

 

My lipids seems to be pretty damn good.  High five, me!

Screen Shot 2014-06-06 at 10.54.20 PM

 

 

 

 

Creatinine and Serum.  This one appears to be the only one I’m in the slight abnormal range according to Kaiser charts.  Not entirely sure what it means though.  Kidney probs.
This website says women’s levels should range from .5-1.1, and men from .6-1.2 while also raising the possibility that young muscular people might have slightly higher amounts of creatinine in their blood. So.  either I’m young and muscular, or I may have kidney issues.

The GFR is slightly more worrisome.  From National Institute of Health MedlinePlus : “Levels below 60 mL/min/1.73 m2 for 3 or more months are a sign of chronic kidney disease. GFR result lower than 15 mL/min/1.73 m2 is a sign of kidney failure and requires immediate medical attention.” WTF kidneys.  Now I’m all worried.

Creatinine

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Recent Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

