Food prep, for real this time

I tend to follow my training programs very well, but following a nutrition plan has always been very hard for me.  As mentioned numerous times on this blog.. like here and here.  I will never get to 6 pull-ups unless I really focus! I was also getting frustrated myself with not following through with getting up early for workouts, which when things start getting really busy at work meant that I couldn’t make them up in the evening and I was missing workouts.  I also moved to a place farther away, and it took me a long time to figure out a new gym, and a new schedule.  I could no longer run to the gym after resting at home for a bit.  Anyways.  Reasons for past failure for not eating right:

1) over-estimating my spur of the moment nutrition choices:  I know quite a bit about eating healthy, and what I should and shouldn’t eat.  But it’s also really difficult for me to think about what I want to make when I’m tired, even if I did have all the ingredients at hand.  My willpower breaks when I’m tired or overworked.  So the easier I can make that for myself.. the better.

1) Not planning it out.  It’s also really hard to eat a good meal when you get home at 9:30, and don’t have all the ingredients. (or any of them) Result of bad planning.  If I got home, I am certainly not leaving.    Same with lunch at work.  If I don’t make lunch, I’m just going to have to buy lunch.  There are not a lot of great options around, and sometimes I don’t have a lot of time.  Making lunch ensures I know exactly what I’m going to eat the next day rather than leaving it up to change.  Planning it out helps to hold myself accountable.  No excuses.

2) Not committing.  There are steps to take to commit to a goal (for me).  For example, if I’m planning on going to the gym in the morning, I need to have my gym bag packed the night before.  If I go to bed telling myself I’ll try to go.. if I feel like it.  That is essentially a cop out, and I know it.  So when I don’t go into it mentally prepared to fight off all temptation, I am giving up before I start.  Or sneaking sugar into my coffee to pretend just a little bit won’t hurt.  If I’m trying to do a no sugar challenge for 30 days.. then no! I cannot have sugar in my coffee.  Discipline.

So this time I’m serious.  I wrote all my meals out, M-F, including the days I need to go the store and what ingredients.  Here is a sample.  I will cook on Saturday, and do it all over again each Sunday.

meal plan

My Sunday meal!  With homemade dressing.  And yes, that is fish.  The fish was kind of gross.  But I ate it anyways.

FOT8DBD

About Musings over Coffee

Fitness enthusiast. Love to travel, mess up recipes, ponder random things, get riled up about the news, all of which nearly always coinciding with one of my favorite things in the world: Coffee.
This entry was posted in Food, Recent Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

